While you wait for your Raspberry Pi, why not use RacyPy2?

How to use RacyPy or WaryPy.

1. Download the .iso.

2. Download and install DVD Decrypter (or use you favourite .iso burning software).

3. Right click on the .iso file and choose “Burn with DVD Decrypter.

4. Reboot your PC. It should boot from the CD, if it doesn’t do this by default, look for a message telling you what to press for boot options (often F2 or F9).

5. That’s it.

 

To run WaryPy in Virtual Box.

1. Download WaryPy.vdi.

2. Download and install VirtualBox.

3. Start VirtualBox. Choose “new”.

4. Follow the instructions on screen and choose “Linux” and Linux 2.6.

5. Choose “use existing hard disk” and find the .vdi file.

6. Start your new virtual machine.

 

Since Liz posted on the RPi homepage about this LiveCD, I’ve had a lot of hits on the blog. Quite a few people have asked about running Puppy in VirtualBox. This works really nicely and I have uploaded a .vdi file for WaryPy (this seems to be better for VB as it doesn’t need PAE).

The .iso of RacyPy is  here.

This Operating System is aimed at people with no experience of using Linux. If you are excited about the Raspberry Pi and keen to start learning to program, this could be useful to you.

Features:

1. The original version only came with Python 3 and Pygame. This one has Python 2.7.2 and 3.1.4. Both have Pygame installed which means you are ready to start learning to code whichever version you favour.

2. On the old version I had added a lot of tutorials for several programming languages. This time I have decided to keep it simple. There are lots of great materials for learning Python (you’ll find them in an archive file in my-documents). I’ve left out the others, becuase I am sure that those who want to try other programming languages will have no difficulty finding them.

3. I have included the Java Development Kit (1.7.2). This means that if you wan to learn Java too, you can compile and run Java code without needing to install anything.

4. Typing tutorial included. The nice “gtypist” program is installed, because good coding requires typing skills!

As before, there’s no need to install anything – you just put the disc in your optical drive and boot from it. You can save your work to a memory stick or onto the hard drive without doing anything at all to your existing operating system. If you want to install it, there’s lots of help on the Puppy forum.

As before, this OS is based on Racy Puppy. Racy has a very up-to-date Linux kernel. But it’s a lightweight distribution that should run nicely on quite old machines (eg it’s fine on my old Toshiba laptop with a Pentium 3 processor and 256mb of RAM). If there’s an old computer in your house that no-one uses any more, you will probably find that RacyPy runs really well on it. So you can use this system while we wait for our RPis to be delivered!

happy coding

antiloquax.

BugFix (if you haven’t got the latest version).

You may notice that Java isn’t working in Seamonkey. To fix it, click on this link and choose open with petget. I put the wrong link in the plugins folder – oops!

Tags: , ,

61 Responses to “While you wait for your Raspberry Pi, why not use RacyPy2?”

  1. Get your Raspberry Pi kit together! « Team Python Says:

    […] the mean time, you can pretend you have an RPI by downloading and using RacyPy2! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. francescodifusco Says:

    Reblogged this on FRANCESCO DI FUSCO.

  3. Two “Games” « 100mudcats Says:

    […] you might want to try a Linux environment. The easiest way to get started is RacyPy – it comes with Python and pygame ready-installed. If you need any help with this, just ask […]

  4. Some news in a quiet week | Raspberry Pi Says:

    […] Python in anticipation (and especially if you’re new to Linux), you might want to install RacyPy on your PC; I’ve been playing with it this week, and it’s a great lightweight OS for […]

  5. abishur Says:

    I was hoping to use this in a VM and wanted to install it to the VM drive, is there anyway to install it to drive instead of using it as a live CD?

  6. thomasdharvey Says:

    Lovely stuff – I’ve a few people in mind who this’d be perfect for!

  7. Some news in a quiet week » Geko Geek Says:

    […] your Python in anticipation (and especially if you’re new to Linux), you might want to install RacyPy on your PC; I’ve been playing with it this week, and it’s a great lightweight OS for Linux […]

  8. antiloquax Says:

    Yes, it’s a full Puppy Linux system. If you go to Setup / Puppy Univeersal Installer you’ll see the options. A Frugal install is recommended!

  9. NewUser Says:

    Can you provide instructions to install in Virtual Box with Virtual Box drivers.

  10. abishur Says:

    Doh! Can’t believe I missed that. Thanks!

  11. antiloquax Says:

    I haven’t actually used Virtual Box very much. I know people have used it with this. I’ll get back to you, if I can come up with any information.

  12. Jude Says:

    I’m also interested in VirtualBox install. I’ve already tried but freezes on a kernel panic (after figuring out you have to set the PAE checkbox).

  13. krsmith28p Says:

    Hi just one caution. If it’s a *really* old machine (I tried racy on a single processor (1.4/1.6GHz?) celeron, with 256Mb RAM (long story)) there may be problems for some – in this case it failed to boot with a complaint about the CPU not supporting PAE. I assume that a “WaryPy” would work however, and may not require a significant rebuild (I’m guessing). The same machine also works fine with Lucid Puppy(update 4).

  14. antiloquax Says:

    Fair comment – although it does work on a Pentium II machine I own that has 128mb RAM. Initially I chose Racy because it worked well on my (fairly old) Toshiba Laptop (PIII with 256mb RAM).

  15. antiloquax Says:

    Hi, I haven’t had a chance yet to look into this. But if you go to the Murga Linux forum, I’ll bet there’s some help there.
    Google also threw up this:

    http://johann.loefflmann.net/de/articles/how-to-install-puppy-linux-3.01-on-virtualbox.txt

    http://aksgeek.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/how-to-install-puppy-linux-in-virtual-box/

  16. Chris Says:

    i have not used virtual box much either but i believe i got it working i created a new machine named it gave it the os linux2.6 and did the recommended memory and other stuff. Then got a error saying the cpu cant work with pae and to fix that you double click system go to the processor tab and check enable PAE/NX. then start it up and its good to go. hope this helps

  17. JAY-Q Says:

    im on ubuntu 11.10 and its not working i download it Racypy ios

  18. antiloquax Says:

    Sorry to hear that. Did you burn the .iso to a cd?

  19. Greyswitch Says:

    Can this be run on WinXP SP3?

  20. CaptainWebb Says:

    Is there a kernel which doesn’t require pae in the processor? I want to run RacyPy on a Pentium M laptop?

  21. antiloquax Says:

    Do mean as a virtual pc? Because it should boot fine from the cd on most PCs.

  22. antiloquax Says:

    Sorry, I don’t know about that. But it will do nothing to your system if you just boot from the CD. (I mean, you don’t need to install anything).
    If you want to save your changes / files you can make a savefile (recommended size is 512mb). This can stay on your C: drive without Windows even noticcing, or you could use a flash-drive. I also have an installation on a memory-stick (I’m using it now on my father-in-law’s Windows-only PC. That way you always have your system with you and you can boot into it on any PC that supports booting from USB. You can find options for making a flash-drive installation in Menu > Setup > Puppy Universal Installer.

  23. CaptainWebb Says:

    I’m not sure if either of the last two antiloquax posts are responses to my previous query. Perhaps I wasn’t sufficiently clear.

    I tried to boot from the RacyPy2 ISO, it failed to boot with a mesage about the CPU not supporting PAE, “try another kernel”. Pentium M processors don’t support address extension,

    I’m sure I’m not the first person to hit this problem, hence my query. I don’t know where to look.

  24. SteveO Says:

    Seems to work using VirtualBox on a Windows 7 platform but the mouse movement seems a bit flaky. Also tried on VMware Workstation and so far it looks to work very well.

  25. antiloquax Says:

    Great. Thanks for trying it. Are you already a Linux user?

  26. thassan Says:

    HI. I am new to Linux and am also having the same problem as CaptainWebb with a Pentium M processor and PAE. Is there any way to solve this?

  27. CaptainWebb Says:

    Following a suggestion from antiloquax, I’ve run Wary in VirtualBox under XP, without PAE. It seems fine, except for a few screen issues I managed to bypass. Unfortunately, no Python …

  28. evands Says:

    I can’t set my virtualbox to show perfectly the screen resolution at 1366×768, the screen is showed “cut” and I can’t see the bottom line with clock etc in full screen mode.

  29. antiloquax Says:

    I’ve uploaded a .vdi of Wary with Python.
    warypy.vdi
    WaryPy in VirtualBox

  30. antiloquax Says:

    I think you need to play around with the resolution in Puppy. Try 1024*768. I had the same thing at first!

  31. CaptainWebb Says:

    Wow! Whoopee! and other cries of joy!

    WaryPy is excellent, and Python slithers (well, snakes can’t run, can they?) beautifully. Now, to how many figures can I calculate Pi before mine arrives?

    Many thanks.

  32. Mr Jolly Says:

    virtual box interest ? tutorial thing

  33. CaptainWebb Says:

    WaryPy update. I made a bootable WaryPy on USB stick. It now really motors
    on my Pentium M laptop, way better than in VirtualBox. Highly recommended.

  34. thassan Says:

    How did you go about making that bootable USB stick?

  35. antiloquax Says:

    Great stuff! I love having Puppy on a stick! That way I have my system with me wherever I go!

  36. antiloquax Says:

    @thassan – if you boot into Puppy and go to the Universal Installer (Start Menu > Set-up). You’ll see the options there. Depending on the bios of your computer, you might need to try a couple of the options to make it work with your PC. On most modern computers, the default setting work fine.

  37. CaptainWebb Says:

    I was going to say that! It’s what I did. The only real problem was getting VirtualBox to recognise the laptop’s USB hardware, but I’ve no idea whether that was specific to my machine or a general issue. Once the stick became adressable, the rest just went as described.

    One warning. There are long (minutes) while files are being transferred silently and invisibly. Just wait. It’s worth it.

  38. Txe Says:

    Hi comm,
    Following this great sugestion I downloaded racypy2_1.iso and tryed to burn it on a cd with brasero (I use fedora 16) but unsuccessful. I repeated the download and burn job but same. Would ayone know to help me? I’d appreciate it.
    I saved the brasero sesion log if this can be of help:

    Thanks anyway.
    Txe.
    (…)
    BraseroLibburn SCSI error condition on command 2Ah WRITE(10): [3 0C 00] Medium error. Write error.
    BraseroLibburn called brasero_job_set_current_action
    BraseroLibburn Libburn reported an error SCSI error on write(0,16): [3 0C 00] Medium error. Write error.
    BraseroLibburn called brasero_job_error
    BraseroLibburn finished with an error
    BraseroLibburn asked to stop because of an error
    error = 1
    message = “SCSI error on write(0,16): [3 0C 00] Medium error. Write error.”
    BraseroLibburn stopping
    Session error : SCSI error on write(0,16): [3 0C 00] Medium error. Write error. (brasero_burn_record brasero-burn.c:2856)

  39. antiloquax Says:

    Well, assuming the download was okay, it looks like a problem with your “medium” – ie the disc itself. Try setting the burn speed to the lowest possible setting, or buy a better quality CD ROM.

  40. Txe Says:

    Hi antiloquax,
    Thanks for your reply. I tried to burn it on Wxp using infrarecorder and this http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/7940/burningpupy.jpg what I got.

    You are right its seems to be the disc itself. Does it have to be any in special????? This in particular is a Kodak one…
    I appreciate your help anyway.

  41. antiloquax Says:

    I would have thought Kodak would be very good quality discs. It doesn’t need to be a special disc. I use Tesco discs and they are okay. It would be worth trying a different brand, I suppose. Unless your drive itself is causing a problem. Have you burned .iso images before on your system?

  42. Txe Says:

    OOoops! forget it!, my friend. It’s solved it now. It was a faulty one disc, I tryed with another one from an another pack I had and everything ran smoothly…. D

  43. Txe Says:

    Hi comm,
    Would anyone know to tell what different is racyPy2 from the puppy available here http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02910
    Thanks!!
    Txe

  44. antiloquax Says:

    That’s great.

  45. antiloquax Says:

    Yes. That is the puppy that runs on the raspberry pi itself. My iso is for ordinary pcs. It just has all the python stuff I wanted to use back in the days before the pi was actually available.

  46. TomareUtsuZo Says:

    Sir. I seem to be having a problem with the pygame working (RacyPy2.1) . I typed up the Bat and Ball from MagPi Issue 1 but I get an error about it importing the Pygame modual. Have you heard of anyone having this problem? I am running off a stick. Had the same problem off an ISO.

    R
    TomareUtsuZo

  47. antiloquax Says:

    Sorry to hear this.
    You could check if Pygame is working by opening idle (for whichever version of Python you are using) and typing “import pygame”. If this gives an error, let me know.
    Otherwise, could you post up your code and the error message you get.
    The Bat and Ball game in the Magpi was edited a lot from my original version. Have a look at the video tutorials I have posted on this blog – it’s number 8.

  48. masanngu Says:

    love racypy2 it comes with pygame

  49. masanngu Says:

    can any now teach me to program in racypy2

  50. antiloquax Says:

    Try watching some of the Python Videos I have made – go on YouTube and search for “Raspberrypy”

  51. igor (igorraven) Says:

    My computer uses a Intel 82801H card (or chip) for sound. My speaker jack worked with Puppy 5.2 but not with RacyPy. Can I exchange modules 5.2 to RacyPy?

  52. antiloquax Says:

    I would think that you could get it to work by using the Puppy sound wizard. If you have no luck please ask on the murga linux puppy forum. There are more experienced pupppy users there.
    Also there’s a new .iso of racypy here:
    http://db.tt/qLK9jw9m

  53. deisoft Says:

    the comment above yours is just spam mate. It’s got a backlink

  54. Mike Says:

    I am using RacyPy (but not on a PC, not a Raspberry Pi).
    Python version 3 works fine, but version 2.6.4 is giving me errors with Tkinter and tkinter. Have followed general Puppy instructions here (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80426&sid=c4b0f596894100225dd6b480fe55c665). I can now run Idle under v2,6, but import _tkinter fails. Any tips?
    Mike

  55. antiloquax Says:

    Just in case it’s this, have you tried:
    import Tkinter

    Python 2.x uses capitals in situations where 3.x does not.

  56. bazafirm.net Says:

    Fenomenala ocena. Właśnie takiego podejścia szukałem.
    Prześlę tę witrynę znajomym. Zaświadczam że będę tu zaliczał
    koleje odwiedziny. Powodzenia w dalszym prowadzeniu.

  57. castles Says:

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on
    my end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would
    be greatly appreciated.

  58. antiloquax Says:

    These things are redundant now that Raspberry Pis are available.

    I recommend you use Arch. There’s plenty of help on the RPi forum.

  59. pato888 Says:

    Could you please leave a link for an ISO for racypy for a liveUSB?

  60. antiloquax Says:

    This was just something I put together back when we could not get Raspberry Pis. Now it’s easy. Get a Pi and install one of the distros from raspberrypi.org.

  61. Shad Says:

    I do not even know how I ended up here, however I assumed this put up used to be great.
    I do not recognize who you might be but certainly you are going to a famous
    blogger if you happen to aren’t already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

